clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Ziemba, D.J. Matthews add names to IU’s list of preseason honorees

It’s been a busy Watch list SZN for the Hoosiers

COLLEGE FOOTBALL: OCT 12 Rutgers at Indiana
IU’s Michael Ziemba takes the field during a game against Rutgers on Oct. 12, 2019.
Photo by James Black/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images

A total of 10 individual Hoosiers have found their way onto the various honor rolls that fill the college football preseason. D.J. Matthews and Michael Ziemba are the latest additions to that group.

Matthews’ athleticism as a receiver and return man landed him a spot on the watch list for the Paul Hornung Award, which goes to the nation’s most versatile player. Meanwhile, Ziemba’s participation in various community service initiatives earned him placement on the watch list for the Wuerffel Trophy, awarded annually to players who serve others and impact society.

A Florida State transfer who enrolled at IU as a graduate student this spring, Matthews ranks 10th all-time in Seminoles history with 582 career punt return yards and also holds two of the program’s top-four single-game marks. On offense, Matthews comes to Bloomington having made 84 career receptions for 809 yards and five scores.

Ziemba, a Bull hybrid outside linebacker who has played in 43 career games for the Hoosiers, was IU’s 2020 Big Ten Sportsmanship Award honoree. In recent years, he has volunteered his time with The 2nd & 7 Foundation, Habitat for Humanity, Camp Riley, and the Cocoa Couture Fashion Show.

Here’s the full list of IU’s preseason honorees:

Paul Hornung Award: D.J. Matthews

Wuerffel Trophy: Michael Ziemba

Lou Groza Award: Charles Campbell

Outland Trophy: Matthew Bedford

Nagurski Trophy: Micah McFadden, Tiawan Mullen

Jim Thorpe Award: Tiawan Mullen

Butkus Award: Micah McFadden

Mackey Award: Peyton Hendershot

Biletnikoff Award: Ty Fryfogle

B1G Preseason Honors: Michael Penix Jr.

Doak Walker Award: Stephen Carr

Davey O’Brien Award: Michael Penix Jr.

Bednarik Award: Micah McFadden, Tiawan Mullen

Maxwell Award: Ty Fryfogle, Michael Penix Jr.

Dodd Trophy: Tom Allen