clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Fryfogle named to Biletnikoff Award watch list

Another preseason honor for TyFry

Syndication: Indianapolis
 Indiana Hoosiers wide receiver Ty Fryfogle (3) caught a pass during fall camp at Mellencamp Pavilion in Bloomington, Ind., on Aug. 7, 2019.
Bobby Goddin/For IndyStar, Indianapolis Star via Imagn Content Services, LLC

A year after winning the Big Ten’s receiver of the year award, there was no doubt that Ty Fryfogle would land on a few watch lists this summer.

And look at him now, taking his rightful place Thursday on the Biletnikoff preseason honor roll.

This is the second watch list this week that has included Fryfogle, who also received a spot on the Maxwell Award rundown on Monday. Last season, Fryfogle was one of 11 semifinalists for the Biletnikoff Award, which annually recognizes college football’s outstanding receiver.

The first Hoosier in program history to be named the Big Ten’s Richter-Howard Receiver of the Year, Fryfogle also became the first Indiana wideout since James Hardy in 2007 to receive All-America status when the Associated Press put him on its third team last fall. He led the Hoosiers with 721 yards, 90.1 yards per game, seven touchdowns, and 19.5 yards per reception. He finished second with 37 total catches and 4.6 catches per contest.

Here’s the full list of preseason recognition for IU:

Biletnikoff Award: Ty Fryfogle

B1G Preseason Honors: Michael Penix Jr.

Doak Walker Award: Stephen Carr

Davey O’Brien Award: Michael Penix Jr.

Bednarik Award: Micah McFadden, Tiawan Mullen

Maxwell Award: Ty Fryfogle, Michael Penix Jr.

Dodd Trophy: Tom Allen