clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

IU weekly roundup: Bowl eligibility requirements expected to be waived

Bowl stuff, soccer all-timers, and more

COLLEGE FOOTBALL: NOV 09 New Mexico State at Ole Miss Photo by Michael Wade/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images

It’s Friday, football is still a month away and the general landscape of IU Athletics remains quiet.

So let’s take a quick look back at the week that was:

The NCAA Division I Football Oversight Committee recommends waiving bowl eligibility requirements this season

In a normal timeline, only teams that have achieved a .500 overall record against Football Bowl Subdivision opponents are able to be considered for postseason games. But this year, with schedules of varying lengths and several teams having already canceled games due to virus concerns, it makes sense to turn off the benchmarks for bowl participation.

The Division I Council, which is schedule to meet Oct. 13-14, must approve the recommendation. For the 2020-21 bowl season, postseason games could be played from Dec. 1 to Jan. 11, 2021.

A bowl game this year would mark Indiana’s fourth postseason trip in six years.

5 Hoosier greats were selected to the College Soccer News Team of the Decade

Todd Yeagley’s program was well-represented on the all-decade list, tying Stanford for the most players selected. Here’s how IU’s honorees shook out:

First Team

Andrew Gutman: 2018 MAC Hermann Trophy winner | 2018 Big Ten Defensive Player of the Year

Second Team

Grant Lillard: 2017 First Team All-American | 2018 Big Ten Defensive Player of the Year
Tanner Thompson: 2016 First Team All-American | 2016 Big Ten Midfielder of the Year

Third Team

Will Bruin: 2010 First Team All-American | 2010 Big Ten Offensive Player of the Year
Trey Muse: 2018 First Team All-American | 2018 Big Ten Goalkeeper of the Year

The name of former IU president David Starr Jordan will be removed from campus buildings and spaces

That means we’re one step closer to making this A Thing:

Former IU women’s tennis coach Lin Loring to be inducted into ITA Women’s Collegiate Tennis Hall of Fame

Loring, the winningest coach in women’s college tennis, collected 846 wins over his 44-year career, including 804 victories at Indiana.

From 1987 to 1995, Indiana won nine consecutive Big Ten championships. His teams also strung together 104 consecutive wins against Big Ten opponents during an eight-year span from 1978-1985.

“This award is special because it comes from your peers, the people you coached against for so many years,” Loring said in a statement. “It is really a tribute to all the wonderful young ladies I coached over the years.”