clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Hendershot named to Mackey Award Watch List

Tight end is the fourth Hoosier named to a preseason watch list this month

Eastern Illinois v Indiana Photo by Justin Casterline/Getty Images

Peyton Hendershot is the latest Hoosier to find himself standing in the Watch List SZN spotlight.

On Friday, Henderson was one of 36 players named to watch list for the John Mackey Award, which recognizes the nation’s top tight end. The announcement comes three days after IU coach Tom Allen revealed that Hendershot has been fully reinstated to the team after his February arrest.

Hendershot is coming off a breakout season last fall, when he set IU single-season tight end records with 52 catches and 622 yards. Those marks were good enough to place Hendershot in select company, tying him for fourth nationally in catches and 10th in yardage. He added four touchdowns on the way to earning All-Big Ten third team honors.

Hendershot is also one of eight Big Ten tight ends named to the watch list, joining Penn State’s Pat Freiermuth, Ohio State’s Luke Farrell, Wisconsin’s Jake Ferguson, Michigan’s Nick Eubanks, Maryland’s Chigoziem Okonkwo, Nebraska’s Jack Stoll and Iowa’s Sam LaPorta.


Bednarik Award: Tiawan Mullen

Doak Walker Award: Stevie Scott

Biletnikoff Award: Whop Philyor

Mackey Award: Peyton Hendershot