clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Hoosiers hold virtual team banquet, announce 2019 awards

IU conducted this past season’s team banquet online Thursday evening

Rutgers v Indiana Photo by Bobby Ellis/Getty Images

Some years, the IU football banquet is held in December. Some years, it is not.

This year, it was conducted virtually, much like everything in the college football orbit these days. And the format wasn’t the only big difference.

Rather than hand off the Anthony Thompson Most Valuable Player Award to an individual, IU coach Tom Allen gave it to Indiana’s entire senior class: Quarterback Peyton Ramsey, linebacker Reakwon Jones, offensive linemen Coy Cronk, Simon Stepaniak, DaVondre Love and Hunter Littlejohn, receivers Nick Westbrook, Donavan Hale and Justin Berry, running back Connor Thomas, defensive linemen Allen Stallings IV and Gavin Everett, defensive backs Khalil Bryant, Andre Brown Jr. and A’Shon Riggins, and kicker Logan Justus.

Here are the rest of IU’s 2019 honorees:

Offensive Newcomer of the Year

Matthew Bedford, freshman, offensive tackle

Defensive Newcomer of the Year

Tiawan Mullen, freshman, corner

Ted Whereatt “Senior Academic Excellence” Award:

Nick Westbrook, redshirt senior, receiver

Ted Verlihay “Mental Attitude” Award:

Gavin Everett, redshirt senior, defensive end; Nick Westbrook, redshirt senior, receiver

Corby Davis Memorial Award (Outstanding Back):

Khalil Bryant, senior, safety; Stevie Scott, sophomore, running back

Howard Brown “Dedication to IU Football” Award:

Hunter Littlejohn, redshirt senior, center

Chris Dal Sasso Award (Outstanding Lineman):

Jerome Johnson, redshirt junior, defensive tackle; Simon Stepaniak, redshirt senior, guard

Harold Mauro “Loyalty to IU Football” Award:

Andre Brown Jr., redshirt senior, corner

Terry P. Cole Award (Old Oaken Bucket Game MVP):

Peyton Ramsey, redshirt junior, quarterback

Offensive Scout Team Player of the Year:

Connor Thomas, redshirt junior, running back

Defensive Scout Team Player of the Year:

C.J. Person, freshman, defensive tackle

Special Teams Scout Team Players of the Year:

Ryan Barnes, redshirt freshman, tight end; Connor Thomas, redshirt junior, running back

Outstanding Walk-On Players of the Year:

Ahrod Lloyd, redshirt sophomore, running back; Samuel Slusher, redshirt sophomore, defensive back

Special Teams Player of the Year:

Raheem Layne, junior, defensive back

Most Outstanding Specialists of the Year:

Logan Justus, redshirt senior, kicker; Haydon Whitehead, redshirt senior, punter

Most Outstanding Offensive Player of the Year:

Whop Philyor, junior, receiver

Most Outstanding Defensive Player of the Year:

Micah McFadden, sophomore, linebacker

L.E.O. Award:

Reakwon Jones, redshirt senior, linebacker