clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Big Ten preseason picks, as determined by SB Nation sites

Representatives from around the conference made their choices for Big Ten individual awards

NCAA Football: Big Ten Football Media Day Patrick Gorski-USA TODAY Sports

You can probably already guess some of the big winners.

Nonetheless, contributors from several of SB Nation’s conference team sites got together this past week to predict the rest of the league’s best.

The picks are as follows:

Big Ten East: Ohio State

Of the 10 voters, not one strayed from the Buckeyes. And frankly, why would they?

Big Ten West: Wisconsin

The Badgers received five votes, Minnesota picked up four, and Nebraska landed one.

Big Ten Champion: Ohio State

Again, there was only one choice.

Player of the Year: Justin Fields, Ohio State, QB

Fields received nine votes. Minnesota receiver Rashod Bateman received the other.

Offensive Player of the Year: Justin Fields, Ohio State, QB

Fields also landed the majority of votes here, with Bateman and Purdue receiver Rondale Moore each picking up one vote.

Defensive Player of the Year: Jack Sanborn, Wisconsin, LB

Voters were all over the place here. Sanborn landed three nominations, while Purdue defensive lineman George Karlaftis, Ohio State corner Shaun Wade and Northwestern linebacker Paddy Fisher each landed two. Michigan defensive end Kwity Paye picked up the other.

Offensive Freshman of the Year: Rakim Jarrett, Maryland, WR

Three votes went to Jarrett, two went to Wisconsin quarterback Graham Mertz, and one each went to IU receiver Rashawn Williams, Ohio State receiver Julian Fleming, Wisconsin running back Jalen Berger, Northwestern receiver Zavier Betts and “Some Dude From Ohio State.”

Defensive Freshman of the Year: Andre Seldon, Michigan, CB

The Wolverines’ defensive back was the only player to receive more than one vote. Others in the mix include Nebraska linebacker Blaise Gunnerson, Maryland linebacker Ruben Hyppolite, Nebraska linebacker Keyshawn Green, Michigan defensive end Braiden McGregor, Wisconsin linebacker Nick Herbig, Michigan corner DJ Turner and “Probably A Dude From Penn State.”

Coach of the Year: Ryan Day, Ohio State

With four votes, the Ohio State coach squeezed past IU’s Tom Allen, who picked up three nominations. Wisconsin’s Paul Chryst received two votes and Nebraska’s Scott Frost landed one.