clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Nick Westbrook named to Wuerffel Trophy watch list

The award is given to college football’s top community servant each year

Purdue v Indiana
Nick Westbrook (#15) of the Indiana Hoosiers goes up for a touchdown catch as Kenneth Major (#2) of the Purdue Boilermakers defends during the game at Memorial Stadium on November 24, 2018 in Bloomington, Indiana.
Photo by Michael Hickey/Getty Images

As has become the case lately, a new day has brought a new college football award watch list. On Thursday the list was announced for the Wuerffel Trophy and IU receiver Nick Westbrook was included. The Wuerffel Trophy is named after 1996 Heisman Trophy winner and former University of Florida quarterback Danny Wuerffel and “is awarded to the FBS player who best combines exemplary community service with athletic and academic achievement.”

Westbrook, a fifth-year senior, has volunteered with several organizations in recent years. He’s worked with Riley Children’s Hospital as well as Everybody Plays, Generosity Feeds and the 2nd & 7 Foundation. He’s also a two-time Biletnikoff Award watch list honoree and a three-time Academic All-Big Ten selection.

Westbrook is one of 93 players to make the list which includes six representatives from the Big Ten. Previous winners of the award, which has been given out annually since 2005, include Florida’s Tim Tebow, Alabama’s Barrett Jones and USC’s Matt Barkley.