clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Big Ten all-conference teams: Purdue’s Caleb Swanigan is Player of the Year, Indiana gets absolutely nothing

Just a year removed from a title, Big Ten champs didn’t manage to get a single dang award from the conference.

NCAA Basketball: Purdue at Northwestern Patrick Gorski-USA TODAY Sports

In a year that started with much promise, Monday was another harsh reminder of how far Indiana has fallen in just a handful of months.

Zero Hoosiers were recognized as part of the postseason awards handed out by the Big Ten, this coming after James Blackmon Jr. and Thomas Bryant earned preseason All-Big Ten First Team selections with Bryant being selected as the preseason Big Ten Player of the Year by NBC Sports.

Harshening the blow was the announcement of Swanigan as the Big Ten Player of the Year.

The full list of awards:

Player of the Year

Caleb Swanigan (Purdue)

First Team

Peter Jok (Iowa) , Melo Trimble (Maryland), Nate Mason (Minnesota), Caleb Swanigan (Purdue), Ethan Happ (Wisconsin)

Second Team

Derrick Walton (Michigan), Miles Bridges (Michigan State), Malcolm Hill (Illinois), Bryant McIntosh (Northwestern), Bronson Koenig (Wisconsin — media only), Tai Webster (Nebraska — media only)

All-Defensive Team

Ethan Happ (Wisconsin), Vic Law (Northwestern), Reggie Lynch (Minnesota), Dakota Mathias (Purdue), Zac Showalter (Wisconsin)

Freshman of the Year

Miles Bridges (Michigan State)

All-Freshman Team

Jordan Bohannon (Iowa), Miles Bridges (Michigan State), Tony Carr (Penn State), Amir Coffey (Minnesota), Tyler Cook (Iowa)