clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Indiana Football's MT. RUSHMORE

Big Ten Network is looking for the Mt. Rushmore of every Big Ten football program, so help us figure out the four Hoosiers who deserve to be blast-sculpted into the side of a mountain.

Matthew Stockman/Getty Images

Who are your top four?

In the next few days, the staff will reveal their picks as Indiana Football's Mt. Rushmore but for now, we'll show you the list of ten names that the Big Ten Network will be pulling from. Help us decide on the top 4 in the comments and debate those who are deserving and even those not on the list that you think should be.

There is a voting widget at the bottom of the page, where you can rank all ten players, so vote now!

NOTE: Perhaps it's recency bias, but I think Tevin Coleman deserves to be on this list. One of only eighteen players to rush for 2000 yards at the FBS level is a monumental accomplishment for a program like Indiana.


Chuck Bennett (1926-28)

- Indiana University Athletics Hall of Fame Inductee, 2010

- Chicago Tribune Silver Football, 1928

- All-American Halfback and All-Big Ten selection, 1928

- Named Most Outstanding Player of 1928 East-West Shrine Game

- Received first Balfour Award as Indiana’s team MVP, 1928

Tim Clifford (1977-80)

- Indiana University Athletics Hall of Fame Inductee, 2008

- Chicago Tribune Silver Football, 1979

- Two-time Co-Captain and Team MVP, 1978-79

- Finished career as IU’s all-time leading passer (4,338 yds)

- Also lettered in baseball three times (1978-80)

Corbett Davis (1934-35, 1937)

- Indiana University Athletics Hall of Fame Inductee,

- First overall selection in 1938 NFL Draft

- Chicago Tribune Silver Football, 1937

- All-American Fullback and All-Big Ten selection, 1937

- IU honors it’s most exemplary senior football player

Vaughn Dunbar (1990-91)

- Finished 6th in Heisman Trophy voting, 1991

- Doak Walker Award (Nation’s top RB) finalist & Consensus First-Team All-American, 1991

- Offensive MVP, 1991 Copper Bowl

- Rushed for 3,029 yds and 25 TD’s in two seasons at IU

- Finished 1991 season with school-record 1,805 yards rushing

Billy Hillenbrand (1941-42)

- Indiana Football Hall of Fame Inductee, 1983

- Consensus All-American Halfback, 1942

- Two-time All-Big Ten selection, 1941-42

- Led Hoosiers in passing, rushing and scoring in 1942

- Remains IU’s all-time leading punt return in yards and average return (16.0)

Pete Pihos (1942-43, 1945-46)

- College (1966) and Pro (1970) Football Halls of Fame Inductee

- All-American Fullback and Defensive End, 1945

- Finished career as school record-holder in career receiving and scoring

- Left Hoosiers in 1944 to serve in WWII where he received the Bronze Star and Silver Star medals for bravery

- Two-time NFL World Champion (1948-49), Six-time Pro Bowl selection and NFL’s 75th Anniversary team

Antwaan Randle-El (1998-2001)

- Indiana Athletics Hall of Fame Inductee, 2012

- Finished 6th in Heisman Trophy voting and won Chicago Tribune Silver Football, 2001

- First player in NCAA history with 40 TD passes and 20 TD runs in career as well as to total 2,500 yds in four straight seasons

- Big Ten Freshman of the Year, 1998 (later re-titled the "Thompson-Randle El Freshman of the Year Award"); Broke NCAA’s single-game total offense record for freshman in first game vs WMU (467 yds)

- Super Bowl XL Champion (Steelers)

George Taliaferro (1945, 1947-48)

- College Football Hall of Fame Inductee, 1981

- Three-time All-American (1945, 1947-48) & First-team All-Big Ten Selection, 1945 & 1948

- Team MVP, 1948

- Led IU in rushing (1945, 1948), passing (1948) and punting (all three seasons)

- Helped Hoosiers to first unbeaten Big Ten Championship team, 1945

John Tavener (1941-44)

- College Football Hall of Fame Inductee, 1990

- Consensus All-American Center, 1944

- Two-time team captain and MVP, 1943-44

- Played in 1943 East-West & 1944 Blue-Gray Games

Anthony Thompson (1986-89)

- Indiana Athletics Hall of Fame Inductee, 2003 & Only Hoosiers football player to have his number retired (#32)

- Finished 2nd in Heisman Trophy voting, 1989 (7th in 1988)

- Chicago Tribune Silver Football, 1988-89

- Two-time First-team All-American Tailback, 1988-89

- Finished career as NCAA record-holder in single-game rushing yards and career TD’s

And don't forget to vote!