clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Big Ten releases 2013 and 2014 conference football schedules.

The Big Ten today announced the matchups and dates for the 2013 and 2014 football seasons.  Those seasons comprise the second two-year scheduling cycle of the 12-team Big Ten.  Here is the whole thing in .pdf form. 

To refresh your recollection, the eight-game Big Ten schedule will be comprised of five intra-division games (for IU, those games will be against fellow "Leaders" division schools Purdue, Illinois, Ohio State, Penn State, and Wisconsin); one inter-division game against a protected opponent (for IU, that's Michigan State); and two rotating inter-division games.  In the first two-year rotation, which includes 2011 and 2012, IU plays inter-division games against Iowa and Northwestern in each season.  In 2013 and 2014, IU will play Michigan and Minnesota.  In 2013, IU plays at Michigan and home against Minnesota, and does the opposite in 2014. 

That means a couple of things.  First, IU will not play new Big Ten member Nebraska until 2015, at the beginning of the third two-year rotation.  It also means that IU, which hasn't played Minnesota since 2008, will not play its first game at Minnesota's TCF Bank Stadium until 2014.  The good news is that this turn of scheduling means that IU, which currently has a 9-7-3 record against Nebraska, will be at or above .500 against the Cornhuskers until at least 2019.