clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Cody Zeller named Indiana Mr. Basketball.

If you buy something from an SB Nation link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.

During his impressive high school career, incoming Indiana University freshman Cody Zeller has led his Washington High School team to multiple state championships and qualified for the McDonald's All American game.  Now he has added the crowning achievement to his high school career: as expected, Cody Zeller is Indiana's Mr. Basketball for 2011.  Zeller becomes the third Mr. Basketball from his immediate family, joining older brothers Luke Zeller and Tyler Zeller as winners of the award.  The Hoosier Chronicles nicely documents IU's dominance of this award.  Click through for the details, but IU has comfortably more Mr. Basketball winners than all other Indiana schools combined.  The Indianapolis Star article announcing Zeller as the winner is worth a read.  Zeller is the salutatorian of his Washington class and seems like a high quality person, which always is a nice feature in a five star recruit.

After Washington's win in this year's 2011 3A state championship game, Zeller was awarded the Arthur L. Trester award for mental attitude, an award that is given to a senior who qualifies for the state finals (since 1998, there have been four winners per season, one for each class).  Winning both Mr. Basketball and the Trester Award is a strong indication that a player is the whole package.  Winning Mr. Basketball demonstrates excellence on the court; winning the Trester Award demonstrates high character off the court; and because the Trester Award is given only to state finalists, winning that award also demonstrates that the winner has been part of a quality team.  Prior dual winners are Greg Oden (2006); Luke Zeller (2005); Chris Thomas (2001); Jared Jeffries (2000); Bryce Drew (1994); Damon Bailey (1990); Pat Graham (1989); Dave Colescott (1976); Tom and Dick VanArsdale (1961); Jimmy Rayl (1959); Bobby Plump (1954); Joe Sexson (1952); Pat Klein (1950); and Bud Brown (1942).  That's excellent company.

Congrats, Cody!