clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

And then there were none.

As has been reported everywhere by now, Jordan Crawford will not return to IU for his sophomore year. Crawford would have been the team's leader and the only established scoring threat, but for whatever reason (and it's unclear whether this was desired or not by Tom Crean) he's not coming back. Because of Brandon McGee's departure a couple of weeks ago, that leaves Kyle Taber, who came to IU as a walk-on, as IU's only returning scholarship player.
Here's where that leaves us:
Returning scholarship players: former invited walk-on Kyle Taber (Sr.).

Incoming scholarship players who will be eligible in 2008-09: Tom Pritchard (F/C from Ohio, freshman); Matt Roth (G from Illinois, freshman); Devan Dumes (guard from Decatur Central/Eastern Michigan/Vincennes, junior); Nick Williams (guard from Alabama, former Marquette recruit); Verdell Jones (Illinois); Tijan Jobe (center from Olney Central JC, junior).

Returning walk-ons: Brett Finkelmeier (sophomore guard).

Incoming walk-ons: Daniel Moore (guard from Carmel); Kory Barnett (guard from Rochester); Broderick Lewis (guard from Lafayette Jefferson)

Incoming freshmen, 2009-10: Derek Elston (forward, Tipton); Bobby Capobianco (forward, Ohio); Maurice Creek (guard, Connecticut); Jordan Hulls (guard, Bloomington South).
That leaves IU with seven scholarship players. Freshmen will be the core of the team and it seems likely that the walk-ons all will receive significant playing time. IU still is in the hunt for the few high quality players still on the market, including former Arizona recruit Emmanuel Negedu, but all seem to be leaning elsewhere. So, there's a decent chance that this will be the team.